top of page

Theory Lesson 2: Note Names

Notes are named after the first seven letters of the alphabet:

Notes get higher as we go up the alphabets. When we get to G we start again from A, but the second set of seven notes is higher than the first seven:

One cycle starting from any letter and ending on the same letter is called an octave. Notes that are an octave apart – above or below – share the same name.

Because tunes go down as well as up, it’s useful to learn to say the first seven letters of the alphabet backwards, like this: G, F, E, D, C, B, and A.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • YouTube
bottom of page